Guild Hall Member Show Winners

A Meet the Winners gallery talk will be held in the museum on May 17 at 11 a.m
Durell Godfrey

    Hopes and excitement ran high this year for the Guild Hall artist-members show, an annual event that brings the South Fork artistic community together for one of the largest shows in the region. More than 470 artists, the most ever, submitted work to be placed on the walls of the three main galleries, everyone hoping to be recognized by Robert Storr, a former curator at the Museum of Modern Art and the dean of the Yale School of Art.

    Mr. Storr selected William S. Heppenheimer to receive top honors for a totemistic acrylic-on-wood panel painting. Other winners were Julie Small-Gamby for best abstract work, Fran Hand for best representational work, Gary Beeber for best photograph, Robert Tucker for best work on paper, Susan Frame for best sculpture, and Tracy Jamar for best mixed-media work. The winner of the Catherine and Theo Hios Best Landscape award was Pamela Long Nolan. The best new artist award went to Zachary Cohen.

    Honorable mentions were awarded to Deborah Barrett, David Cataletto, Ann Chwatsky, Steven Corsano, Sara Douglas, Anne Drager, Laura Duggan, Suzanne LeFleur, Phyllis Kriegel, Aija Meisters, Alison Milano, Linda Miller, Jeff Muhs, Steven Schreiber, Catherine B. Silver, E.E. Tucker, and LB Volle.

    A Meet the Winners gallery talk will be held in the museum on May 17 at 11 a.m. A lecture by Andrea Cote, a multimedia artist and one of the exhibitors, will be held on May 31 at 3 p.m.