Dems Dole Out the Honors

       The East Hampton Town Democratic Committee feted its own during a holiday party at the Palm restaurant in East Hampton on Friday, honoring retiring Justice Catherine A. Cahill for her 20 years of service to the town and saluting a number of committee members for their work on this year’s campaign.

       Among the crowd of 95 guests were Supervisor-elect Larry Cantwell, Councilwoman-elect Kathee Burke-Gonzalez, and Steven Tekulsky, who was elected to take Ms. Cahill’s place on the bench.

       Andrew Harris of Montauk, a committee member, was named the Democrat of the Year, in part for his “countless hours and effort to the tasks of fulfilling the duties of a committeeman as well as bringing new energy and vitality to the Montauk Democratic community.” Betty Mazur, the committee’s vice chairwoman, got a nod for her “tireless management of the Democrats’ get-out-the-vote project year after year,” and Christopher Kelley, chairman of the campaign committee, was proclaimed “Major Domo Campaign 2013.” Both have the T-shirts to prove it.

       Also at the party, Arlene Coulter, another committee member, announced the creation of a new student internship in memory of the late Phyllis Madan, a member of the Democrats’ executive committee.