Springs, Sag Harbor Okay Spending Plans

In the Springs and Sag Harbor School Districts, where the polls didn’t close until 9 on Tuesday evening, the budgets easily passed.

The $26.6 million 2014-15 school budget in Springs passed by a margin of 285-to-171 votes. 

A separate proposition, where voters were asked to approve a $2 million capital reserve fund, also passed, with 284 in favor and 165 opposed.

Elizabeth Mendelman, the board president, and Timothy Frazier, a board member who is the principal of the Southampton Intermediate School, each won second, three-year terms by 371 and 383 votes, respectively. 

In Sag Harbor, voters re-elected two incumbents, Theresa Samot, the current school board president, and Sandi Kruel. Diana Kolhoff will join the board in July and to replace Mary Anne Miller, who is stepping down at the end of her term in June.

Ms. Samot received 587 votes, Ms. Kruel took in 526 votes and Ms. Kolhoff got 503. Thomas C. Ré, who was also running for one of the three seats, received 346. There were also five write-ins; three for John Battle, two for Stephen Clark and one for Ms. Miller.

Voters approved a $36.8 million budget proposal for the coming school year in a 578-to-222 vote. 

For results in the Bridgehampton and East Hampton school districts, click here.

For results in Montaukclick here.