Two for Fire Commissioner in Montauk

Residents of the Montauk Fire District will be asked to select a fire commissioner on Tuesday in voting from 2 to 9 p.m. at the firehouse on Flamingo Avenue. The Montauk election is the only contested race in East Hampton Town.

Montauk commissioners meet on the second Tuesday and fourth Wednesday of the month at 7 p.m. They are responsible for the financial operations of fire and emergency medical services. 

Two people are running to replace Commissioner Carmine Marino, who decided not to seek re-election. They are Peter Joyce and James Wright, both members of the Fire Department.

Mr. Joyce has said that a personal priority should he be elected is getting paramedic coverage around the clock. He is also interested in the possibility of convincing Albany to allow fire departments to charge patients for ambulance transportation. He runs a home and landscape construction business and has been a Montauk Fire Department volunteer for 44 years, including as its chief. He serves as the department’s hurricane coordinator.

Mr. Wright is an Army veteran and volunteer firefighter and emergency medical technician. He runs a property-management business. Among his priorities, if elected, is firefighter safety and improving the department’s equipment.

In the other districts the candidates are William Vorpahl Jr. in Amagansett, James J. McCaffrey Jr. in Bridgehampton, and Pat Glennon in Springs. The East Hampton Fire Department and Sag Harbor’s are overseen by their respective village boards. Voting in Amagansett and Bridgehampton is from 6 to 9 p.m. at the respective firehouses, and in Springs with a start time of 6 p.m.