A pleasant outing for golfers, mere fans of the sport, and the history-minded
Frances Griscom in front of the Shinnecock Hills clubhouse during the 1900 U.S. Women’s Amateur tournament, which she won. Southampton Historical Museum
Young caddies prepared for a loop at the Manhanset Golf Club (now the Gardiner's Bay Country Club) on Shelter Island in 1920. Shelter Island Historical Society
By Laura Wells
Mary Edith Mardis
By Maggie Scarf
Robin Strong’s “Montauk,” part of the Images of America series from Arcadia Publishing, serves as a fascinating witness to what has come before.
Carl Fisher, the king of Montauk development, in 1925. He bought more than 9,000 acres of the place, but not all of his dreams came to fruition.
Southern Florida Historical Association Collection
Two new children's books by East End authors
By Sally Susman
By Richard Barons
The Plum Island lighthouse, seen in a 2009 photograph, was built from 1869 to 1870 at the northwest point of the island. It was deactivated in 1978.
The firemen’s quarters on Plum Island, built in 1910 and photographed in 1998, is the only remaining building at the site of the 1898 parade ground. (Photograph does not reflect current conditions.) Robert Hefner
A new book in Arcadia Publishing’s Images of America series, “Bridgehampton’s Summer Colony,” by Julie B. Greene
End of the line: The Butter Lane, Bridgehampton, railroad trestle was built in 1895. Boardinghouses at the time would send carriages to pick up their guests.
By Carole Stone
Local book news