Fred Overton, who held elected town posts for 30 years, retired at the close of 2017 but has no plans to leave the community and the people he holds dear. Durell Godfrey

Carissa Katz

David Lys, who replaced Sharon McCobb on the East Hampton Town Zoning Board of Appeals in early 2013, was appointed by a 4-0 vote to begin his own five-year term on the board. T.E. McMorrow

The Surf Lodge on Fort Pond, Montauk. Doug Kuntz

East Hampton Town Supervisor Peter Van Scoyoc was sworn in at Town Hall on Tuesday. T.E. McMorrow

East Hampton Town property owners lined up this week to pay their tax bills early, before new federal rules that will limit deductions take effect for 2018. David E. Rattray