It’s Sander and Laspesa

    With a difference of only one vote, Jeff Sander and Jim Laspesa were elected to serve two-year terms on the North Haven Village Board. The candidates received 173 and 172 votes.

    Mr. Sander was elected to his fourth term. Mr. Laspesa is the chairman and a longtime member of the village’s planning board. Mary Whelan, an attorney, was defeated, receiving 74 votes.

    The position of village mayor will remain open until sometime next month. Laura Nolan resigned from the post in May citing personal reasons after having served five consecutive terms. Jim Smyth, who has served on the village board for many years, is the acting mayor. He declined to seek an additional term.