Stein, Schroeder Victorious

In a four-way race for two seats on the Sag Harbor Village Board, Robby Stein and Sandra Schroeder were victorious in Tuesday’s election, which saw a high turnout of 515 voters.

Mr. Stein, the only incumbent running this time around, was the top vote getter, with 308 votes, including 30 absentee ballots. Kevin Duchemin, who had served one term, did not run for re-election.

Ms. Schroeder, a former village clerk who retired in 2010, was elected with 270 votes, 14 of which were by absentee ballot. She worked for the village for 21 years, but came out of retirement to run for mayor last year, losing by 11 votes to the incumbent, Mayor Brian Gilbride.

Mr. Stein and Ms. Schroeder will each serve a two-year term.

John Shaka, a Save Sag Harbor board member who has lived in the village for 15 years, received 219 votes, which included 28 absentee votes. Bruce Stafford, a former board member who was ousted in a three-way race with Mr. Stein and Mr. Duchemin in 2012, finished last with 124 votes, 3 of which were by absentee ballot.

Mr. Stein said he was thankful to be re-elected for what will be his third full term. “I’m glad because I want to concentrate on these open projects and start the other things that are just beginning. I really did think that both John and Sandra, in particular, were good candidates. I’m hoping John stays involved,” he said.

“I am just thrilled. I’m so glad the people put their faith in me,” Ms. Schroeder said. She is looking forward to taking office on July 1 and getting to work on issues she mentioned during her campaign, such as a capital plan and water quality and drainage.

She expects it to be an easy transition when she joins Mayor Gilbride and Mr. Stein, as well as Ed Deyermond and Ken O’Donnell, both of whom supported her. “I know everybody. Other than Kenny I’ve already sat there with every one them.”

Mr. Shaka said he was disappointed, but enjoyed the experience. “I wanted to win but I’m really happy with the campaign I had,” he said. “The good news is that Sag Harbor has two really good people in there.” He said he intends to remain involved in village government, including the traffic calming project he has helped to spearhead.

Mr. Stafford could not be reached for comment.

According to Beth Kamper, the village clerk, 468 people voted by machine, while 43 sent in absentee ballots. There were also 4 write-in votes, 2 for Scott W. Smith, 1 for Mary Anne Miller, and 1 for Margaret Bromberg.